The MAMC+ is presenting the first exhibition in a French museum by the German photographic artist Thomas Ruff.

This retrospective gaze concerning over forty years of his career aims to reveal the way in which the artist tirelessly questions the photographic medium itself, developing a “meta-photography”. Through a selection of seventeen series, including one as yet unseen (Bonfils, 2022) the visit of around one hundred artworks restores a chronology of the various types of imagery and technical processes that he investigates, thus implicitly retracing a history of photography.

German artist Thomas Ruff started his series of Interiors and Portraits in the 1980s, when he was still a student of Bernd Becher at the fine arts academy Kunstakademie, in Düsseldorf. Although these artworks became emblematic of his work, he nevertheless explored many other approaches to photography, choosing from the 1990s to use only pre-existing images, which he manipulates. The titles of his serial experiments illustrate the continually renewed diversity of his subjects, which the exhibition reflects: Stars, Press Photographs, Nights, Nudes, Portraits, ma.r.s, Photograms, Flowers, Chinese Paintings, and so on.

This exploration of camera technology and image production encompasses all kinds of photographs, while reinventing them, from satellite images to digital tools, to non-digital negatives and JPEGs. Fundamentally, for this artist who draws on existing photography, it is a matter of probing the medium’s capacity for technological evolution and the status of images, while constantly questioning photographic objectivity.

THOMAS RUFF IN A FEW KEY DATES

1958: Birth at Zell am Harmersbach (Forêt-Noire), Germany
1974: Acquires his first camera and learns the basics of photographic technique
1977: Attends the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf and is accepted the following year into Bernd
Becher’s legendary photography class
1981: Creates the first images of the Portraits series and starts to exhibit his work
1985: Completes his studies at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf
1995: Represents Germany at the Venice Biennale
2001-2006: Professor at the Düsseldorf Art Academy
2001: Travelling retrospective exhibition Thomas Ruff. 1979 to the Present, Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden
2017: Retrospective exhibition Thomas Ruff. Photographs 1979-2017, Whitechapel Gallery, Londres

CURATOR

Alexandre Quoi
Chief curator of the MAMC+

ARTIST’S BOOK

The MAMC+ publishes an artist’s book in the form of a leporello. Unfolded over nearly three metres, the book presents a chronology of the photographic processes and genres explored by the artist. On the its, it shows a selection of the works exhibited while on its back, it displays each of the corresponding sources and techniques used by Thomas Ruff. Text written by Alexandre Quoi, chief curator. Published by the MAMC+, distributed by Walther König.
Price: 29 euros.

17 series of photos

Approx. 100 works

Personal retrospective

History of photography

MEDIA PARTNERS

WITH THE SUPPORT OF

Retour sur quarante années de carrière questionnant l’objectivité photographique

Le MAMC+ présente la première exposition dans un musée en France de l’artiste photographe allemand Thomas Ruff.

Ce regard rétrospectif porté sur plus de quarante ans de carrière entend révéler la manière dont l’artiste questionne inlassablement le médium photographique lui-même, pour élaborer une "méta-photographie". À travers une sélection de 17 séries dont une inédite (Bonfils, 2022), le parcours d’une centaine d’œuvres restitue une chronologie des différents genres d’images et procédés techniques qu’il investigue, retraçant ainsi, en creux, une histoire de la photographie.

L’artiste allemand Thomas Ruff commence au début des années 1980 ses séries d’Intérieurs et de Portraits, alors qu’il est encore étudiant de Bernd Becher à l’Académie d’art de Düsseldorf. Si ces œuvres sont devenues emblématiques de son travail, il a cependant exploré bien d’autres approches de la photographie, en choisissant à partir des années 1990 de ne plus utiliser que des images préexistantes qu’il manipule. Les titres de ses expérimentations sérielles illustrent la diversité sans cesse renouvelée de ses sujets, dont l’exposition se fait l’écho : Étoiles, Photographies de presse, NuitsNus, Portraits, mar.R.s, Photogrammes, Fleurs, Tableaux chinois...

Cette exploration des technologies de l’appareil et de la production des images embrasse tous les types de photographies en les réinventant, des images satellites aux outils digitaux, en passant par les négatifs analogiques et le JPEG. Pour cet artiste qui utilise la photographie, il s’agit en somme de sonder les capacités d’évolutions technologiques du médium et le statut des images, dans un questionnement permanent de l’objectivité photographique.


Visites guidées de l'exposition (à partir de 15 ans) :

  • Mercredis et dimanches : 14 h 30

Détails dans l'agenda

Thomas Ruff en quelques dates

1958 : Naissance à Zell am Harmersbach (Forêt-Noire), Allemagne
1974 : Acquiert son premier appareil photo et apprend les rudiments de la technique photographique
1977 : Intègre l’Académie d’art de Düsseldorf et est accepté l’année suivante dans la légendaire classe de photographie de Bernd Becher
1981 : Produit les premières images de la série des Portraits et commence à exposer son travail
1985 : Achève sa formation à l’Académie d’art de Düsseldorf
1995 : Représente l’Allemagne à la Biennale de Venise
2001-2006 : Professeur à l’Académie d’art de Düsseldorf
2001 : Exposition rétrospective itinérante Thomas Ruff. 1979 to the Present, Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden
2017 : Exposition rétrospective Thomas Ruff. Photographs 1979-2017, Whitechapel Gallery, Londres

< Portrait de Thomas Ruff réalisé à la chambre en mai 2022 par Elisa Bapst et Clément Montmea, © E. Bapst, C. Montmea, ENS Louis-Lumière.

Commissariat

Alexandre Quoi
Responsable du département scientifique du MAMC+

LIVRE D'ARTISTE

Le MAMC+ édite un livre d’artiste sous la forme d’un leporello ou "livre-accordéon". Se dépliant sur près de trois mètres, l’ouvrage restitue une chronologie des procédés et genres photographiques interrogés par l’artiste. Il montre au recto une sélection d’œuvres exposées et au verso chacune des sources et techniques correspondantes employées par Thomas Ruff. Texte d’Alexandre Quoi, commissaire de l’exposition.
Prix : 29 euros.

17 séries de photos

Env. 100 œuvres

Rétrospective personnelle

Histoire de la photographie

PARTENAIRES MÉDIAS

Avec le soutien de